How to Apply for the Summer School
Programme and Presentations
Teaching Materials
Pictures of the First European Summer School on Hydrogen Safety
Information for Keynote Speakers
Location and Venue
Travel to Belfast
Transport from hotels to the venue
Useful information
Supporting Bodies
Contact Us
Home Page
How to apply for the Summer School
horiz_line.gif (837 bytes)

Download the application form (.doc format, .pdf format) and return this together with your CV by post, fax or email to Dr. Arief Dahoe and Prof. Vladimir Molkov. Deadline for the submission of the application form and CV is the 20th of June 2006.

The call for applications for EC funding to attend the First European Summer School is now closed. There is a limited number of places for self-funded trainees (deadline for applications and registration is the 21st of July 2006).

Selection criteria

  Applicants should have a first degree (enabling them to undertake doctoral studies).
  Applicants need to have real involvement with the Hydrogen Industry, research or similar, especially safety.
  Applicants who are a member of one of the EU Hydrogen projects e.g. HySafe, HYWAYS, HySAFEST, HYPER, NATURALHY, StorHy, HarmonHy, HYDROGEN, HYTRAIN, etc. are encouraged to apply.
  Applicants who are undertaking or about to undertake higher education in Hydrogen Safety (e.g. registered with the PgCert/PgDip/MSc in Hydrogen Safety Engineering) will be given preference.
  A maximum of 30% of applicants from any one country.
  Women are encouraged to apply to meet the target of 40% of total applicants.
  Preference is given to young researchers with up to 4 years research experience then preference to researchers with more than 4 but less than 10 years experience.
See page 19 of the Marie Curie Conferences & Training Courses Handbook:

"This action will primarily be directed at early stage researchers. More experienced researchers will also be able to benefit from this action where the possibilities offered in the contract are not used for early stage researchers. Researchers with more than 10 years of research experience (full-time equivalent), counting from the time the degree/diploma was obtained giving access to embark on a doctorate in the country where it was awarded, will not be eligible for support, except in the case of researchers who are nationals of Member States, or Associated States active outside these states at the time of an event: these researchers shall be eligible, so that they may establish or strengthen links with the European research community (contact building effect for the transfer of knowledge)."